Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting of the West Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (WCWRPC) Thursday, May 12, 2022, 10:00 a.m. Zoom Video or Dial-In Meeting

Commissioners Present by Phone/Video: Louie Okey, Joe Waichulis, Steve Rasmussen, John Frank, Tracy

LaBlanc, Larry Weisenbeck

Commissioners Absent: Don Hauser

Staff Present: Lynn Nelson, Lisa Ruth, Susan Badtke

1. Call to Order: Chair Frank called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Roll call taken.

- 2. **Review and Approve Executive Committee Minutes of April 14, 2022:** A motion was made by Mr. Okey to approve the April 14, 2022 Executive Committee meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Mr. Weisenbeck; motion carried.
- 3. **Motion to go into Closed Session:** Pursuant to the Provisions of Section 19.85(1) (e) and (g) of Wisconsin Statutes to "review loan applications, negotiate the terms for investment of public funds, and confer with legal counsel for the governmental body who is rendering oral or written advice concerning strategy to be adopted by the body with respect to litigation in which it is or is likely to become involved". Motion by Mr. Waichulis to go into closed session, seconded by Mr. Rasmussen; motion carried.
- 4. **Roll Call Vote to be Taken:** A roll call vote was taken; all Commissioners present voted in the affirmative.

Closed Session

- 5. **Review of Main Street Bounceback Applications:** Applications were reviewed by the Executive Committee.
- 6. **Return to Open Session:** Mr. Okey moved to return the meeting to open session, seconded by Mr. Rasmussen: motion carried.

Open Session

7. **Any Appropriate Motion/Action:** The Main Street Bounceback Program has received another 34 applications which were brought before the Executive Committee for review and approval. An address on one of the review forms was corrected. Ms. Badtke noted that with these 34 applications, a total of 514 will have been reviewed for approval.

Prior to the meeting, applications were reviewed by two staff members and when necessary, addresses were physically inspected by staff members for compliance. The completed applications met all program requirements and guidelines, all businesses applying are eligible according to Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation standards, applications displayed a proper use of funds, and are being recommended by staff for approval. They were additionally reviewed by the Executive Committee prior to the meeting and in closed session. Mr. Weisenbeck moved to approve the 34 applications, seconded by Mr. Rasmussen; motion carried.

8. **Any Other Business or Updates:** Ms. Nelson filled Executive Committee members in on the status of new Commissioner appointments. Discussion took place regarding the format of the May 26th meeting. Ms. Nelson is recommending that the meeting be in-person only (verses allowing the option of attending in person and/or remotely) since nominations will be taking place for officers, and county selections to the Executive Committee will be determined. The mixed format makes discussion amongst multiple county groups regarding these items difficult. In person will also allow new and reappointed Commissioners to

meet. A new Commissioner orientation will also be arranged. Reappointed Commissioners will be invited to attend if they desire.

Chair John Frank discussed with the Executive Committee upcoming steps to be taken regarding the Nomination Committee. Steve Rasmussen and Tracy LaBlanc stated they would be happy to be on the Committee. Stan Buchanan has been recommended as the third appointment. Mr. Rasmussen will be the contact/Chair for the Nomination Committee. This item will be first on the agenda, followed by appointments to the Executive Committee from the remaining non-officer counties.

- 9. **Next Executive Committee Meeting Date:** The next Executive Committee meeting will be June 9, 2022. Location to be determined.
- 10. **Next Commission Meeting Date:** Thursday, May 26, 2022. Location to be determined.
- 11. **Motion to Adjourn:** Mr. Waichulis moved to adjourn, seconded by Mr. Rasmussen; motion carried.

Prepared by Lisa Ruth