## Minutes of the West Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (WCWRPC) Meeting Thursday, May 26, 2022 - 10:00 a.m. Eau Claire Conference Room, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, Building D, Banbury Place 800 Wisconsin Street, Eau Claire, WI

**Commissioners Present**: Stan Buchanan, Louie Okey, Chuck Hull, George Rohmeyer, Joe Waichulis, Peter Kaz, Allen Krause, Steve Rasmussen, John Frank, Kyle Johnson, Dane Zook, Terry Hauer, Dan Hansen, Mike Barcalow, Ryan Sicard

**Commissioners Absent**: Gary Taxdahl, Diane Morehouse, Tom Quinn, Denise L'Allier-Pray \*One representative from Chippewa County, and one representative from Polk County are yet to be appointed.

Staff Present: Lynn Nelson, Lisa Ruth

- 1. Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 10:04 a.m. by Chair John Frank. Roll call was taken.
- 2. Welcome and Introduction of Commissioners and Guests: New and returning Commissioners introduced themselves.
- **3.** Review and Approve Minutes of March 11, 2022 Commission Meeting: Mr. Okey moved to accept the minutes as distributed, seconded by Mr. Rasmussen; motion carried.
- 4. **Review and Approve Disbursements:** A motion was made by Mr. Buchanan to approve the disbursements as presented, seconded by Mr. Waichulis; motion carried.
- 5. Resolution Recognizing Outgoing Commission Members: A resolution was presented recognizing the contributions of Commissioners who are not returning for the 2022-2024 term. A motion by Mr. Hansen to approve and sign the resolution, seconded by Mr. Krause; motion carried. A copy of the resolution with a letter will be sent to the outgoing Commission members.
- 6. Overview of Nominating and Election Process for WCWRPC Officers: Chair Frank went over the process to be used in nominating and electing WCWRPC officers. Chair Frank appointed Steve Rasmussen, Stan Buchanan, and Peter Kaz to the Nominating Committee. Mr. Rasmussen will serve as Chair of the Nominating Committee.

## BREAK

7. Election of WCWRPC Officers: Chair Rasmussen of the Nominating Committee presented the slate of candidates for officer positions. Louie Okey was nominated for Chair, John Frank was nominated for Vice-Chair, and Joe Waichulis was nominated for Secretary/Treasurer. With no further nominations, the slate of officers was approved unanimously.

## NEW CHAIR ASSUMES LEADERSHIP POSITION FOR MEETING

8. Election of Executive Committee Members: The Executive Committee will be composed of the three elected officers and representatives from the other four counties. The remaining non-represented counties (Chippewa, Dunn, Polk, and St. Croix) discussed among themselves who to appoint to the Executive Committee. The following have been appointed:

Chippewa County – George Rohmeyer Dunn County – Steve Rasmussen Polk County – Terry Hauer (however, since two members from Polk County were not present, an alternate appointment may be made in the near future). St. Croix County – Ryan Sicard

At this time, Executive Director Nelson presented outgoing Chair John Frank with a gavel commemorating his two terms as Chair and his 24 years of service as an Eau Claire County representative on the Commission.

- **9.** WCWRPC Overview and Director's Report: Executive Director Nelson gave a summary of current projects and activities highlighting to new members the work of the Commission. She also shared a Point Power presentation giving an overview of the Commission's membership, financing, use of funds, goals, and services.
- **10. Discussion Regarding Commission Meeting Format Moving Forward:** Prior to the pandemic all Commission meetings were held in person at rotating locations throughout the counties. During the pandemic the meetings moved to remote, and later to providing attendees the option of attending in person or remotely. Input is now being sought on how Commissioners would like to see the meetings facilitated into the future. After discussion, a proposal was put forth to consider hosting at least three meetings annually at rotating locations throughout the region, with the three others to be held at Banbury Place in Eau Claire. These meetings would be in-person only. However, at the discretion of the Chair and Executive Director, meetings could be by conference call, video, or in-person or a combination thereof. This proposal only refers to Full Commission meetings and does not include Executive Committee meetings. After some discussion, Mr. Barcalow moved to approve this proposal, seconded by Mr. Sicard; motion carried.
- 11. Barron County Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan Update Agreement: Barron County is requesting assistance in updating the Barron County Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan. Motion by Ms. Waichulis to approve the agreement, seconded by Mr. Rohmeyer; motion carried.
- 12. Next Executive Committee Meeting Date: The next Executive Committee meeting will be in person at Banbury Place starting at 10:00 a.m. on June 9, 2022. At 11:30 a.m. on that day, a new Commissioner orientation will be held. All members are invited to attend.
- **13.** Next Commission Meeting Date: The next Commission meeting is Thursday, July 14, 2022 location to be determined. This will be an in-person meeting.
- **14.** Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 11:41 a.m.

Prepared by: Lisa K. Ruth